50,000 words is a good start.

nano_10_winner_120x390-8Over the last couple of days most of my energy, creative and otherwise went into finishing the challenge of writing 50,000 words in the month of November.

I am excited by this in that this time around I finished it when I was gainfully employed, and  maintaining my commitment to the art gallery.  The first time I won Nanowrimo I was unemployed.

The following year I was unable to do so. I let that discouragement allow me to put my writing on the back burner. I never quite gave it up, but it certainly took a backseat to all the other stuff.

This year I not only managed it, but I learned a lot.

One thing that has me kind of sad it that I will no longer have my little month graphic that will show a red day if I do not write, and I fear that it will show a red day for the last day, because I have already won.

I don’t know what happens if I up my word count above the confirmed win. It lets me add my count so I can keep going and avoid the dreaded red square.

Now I want to find someone who will code me a widget to enter daily word counts in it.

6 thoughts on “50,000 words is a good start.

  1. Wow! How great for you, fantastic job! That widget word count thing is a good idea, I’ll have to suggest that to my husband who happens to write code:) And I’s say 50,000 words is more than a good start, it’s a super start.

Leave a comment