Recently I attended a webinar run by Phil Simon, in which he recommended a few tools for improving the SEO rating of your website/blog.  Being a good webinar learner went and ran my website through one of the tools, Website Grader. I received a 50 on my first try, and a well written page of suggestions on how to improve my grade.  One of the suggestions was moving my blog to my website.

DSC04431

I started my blog on wordpress.org because of all the blogging formats I had tried, it was the one that felt the best. As I started developing my own website as an artist, writer and designer, I kept the blog on the wordpress site.  I had a list of reasons why the blog and the website were fine being in two locations. I had put a lot of time and energy into it. I was linked into a number of artistic communities through the wordpress open id.

Then came that 50. That translated in my mind as failing.  Then I recalled the quote:

“There is no failure except in no longer trying” – Elbert Hubbard

So, the logical thing to do was to move the blog.  I am sure that some of you are wondering what this has to do with an artistic journey. Isn’t being creative all about what you are making, writing or designing?

To which I have to ask, “ Do you want to make a living doing what you do?” If yes, chances are that you will need to spend either some time or some money on developing your website, your SEO and your online presence. 

I decided to take a number of the suggestions that Phil gave us in the webinar, and the suggestions from Website Grader and turn them into a battle plan to bring that 50 up as high as I can get it.  Between the move and a few other minor changes I managed to get the score up to 72. 

