Book Review

My Daughter received the book faery001 faery003

Dreamscapes: Creating Magical Angel, Faery & Mermaid Worlds In Watercolor

by Stephanie Pui-Mun Law

It is a beautiful book,  and it inspired me to try some of the techniques she shows in the book.  Please do not judge this book by my results, I was across the table and only allowed to glance briefly at what she had to say.  Later I was able to take a good look at the book, and I was even more impressed.

She breaks down her process in great detail,  giving details on what color she used, the technique, and even the specific type brush.  She also includes a fair amount of drawing lessons, basic hands and feet and how to alter human faces to create the various non human looks.

Leira007I have included a drawing done by my fifteen year old daughter, I was impresses with how much she picked up from the book . One thing I have always struggled with is hair. After my daughter finished with the book, I read Stephanie’s description of how she paints hair, and I can not wait to give it a try.  I know it will be an improvement, as she addresses all the things I do not like about how the hair I painted looks.

All and All I am quite impressed with this book. It has all the beauty of most coffee table art instruction books, but with the serious instructional content that is lacking in most other art books.

I recommend it highly.

Endorsement and Testimonial Notice- Links to Amazon are part of an affiliate program.

One thought on “Book Review

  1. Also, to add to what my mom said, for people reading this, the book isn’t just good for painting, but as someone who draws, this book was helpful for me there as well. I used to draw strictly anime-style, but this book helped me branch out and try something other than anime-style, which was great. I love the book. It is a great learning tool, but it won’t help someone who is just getting into to drawing learn how to draw.

Leave a Reply

