Hands on Drawing!

Last night we painted and drew the new year in, It was so much fun.

My daughter was struggling with drawing hands. She asked how do I learn to draw hands.

I knew the answer of practice was not going to go over well,  so I broke it down a bit more into how to practice drawing hands.

I took a series of photos of the girls hands.

DSC01650 hands1

The particular one that she wanted to use I also used a graphics program to break it down into 7 different colors so that you can easily see where the highlights and shadows are.

I have shown them how to use a clear triangle from a math set to see the angles.

I have highlighted some of the ones that I find are key to getting the hand to look like a hand.

hand2

Notice that although the hand is wrapped around the handle of the spoon, the line of the knuckles is slightly different due to the varying lengths of the bones in the hand.  When I am sketching hands as part of a figure, I will look to when there is a bent angle on the hand. In this case the red line along the top on the hand is the one I would focus on, as it tells the most about the position of the hand.  I see a lot of drawing books that spend a great deal of  time on getting the angles of the center line of the arm correct, leave the hands as a circle or oval that magically gets filled in with the instructions of  something like draw in the details of the hands.   I look for where the highlights and shadows are first, because they help me get a feel for the hand as a three dimensional object with areas of highlights, mid tones and shadows, and then at the angles of the lines that the outside edges form.

Some pictures for practice of drawing hands.

DSC01644 DSC01647

DSC01649 DSC01653

DSC01651 DSC01652 DSC01654 DSC01655

4 thoughts on “Hands on Drawing!

  1. Wow! This was fascinating. Thanks for sharing. I wanted to let you know that the “reduce clutter” challenge is up on my website. Click the badge for details. Hope you’ll consider joining us! Happy new year.

Leave a Reply

