DSC08907

Last night was the Winter Lights Art Auction held at the Westfield Athenaeum.  

I had a wonderful time and was glad to donate my art to help with the lighting fund for Downtown Westfield.  It was a wonderful chance to meet a number of other artists, business owners and members of the community.  Going to social functions like this has never been my favorite thing, as I often feel awkward. 

Just in time, Alyson Stanfield, posted Mingling at holiday parties and/or art openings, which is full of good advice on how to get through such occasions.   I found myself involved in a number of conversations that helped me identify areas that  need a little more attention, some goals that I wish to work on and some inspiration for things to try in my own artwork.

Reading all the artist statements was quite an eye opener. I felt quite honored to be included in a show with a number of these artists.  My own artist statement needs some work, but nearly as much as I feared.

One of the biggest surprises, was in how many artists are interested in social media,  and online networking, but do not know where to start.  My having a blog started a number of conversations about this, and many people expressed  a frustration with trying to understand it all.  I may start including the “how to” for my online presence.  I may not be the best, but as one woman said last night, at least I can explain it from an artist’s perspective.  Lots of things to think about.