Juxtaposition

Rennata M. Tropeano,Juxtaposition , digital image  ©2009

 

jux⋅ta⋅po⋅si⋅tion

[juhk-stuh-puh-zish-uhn]

–noun
1.an act or instance of placing close together or side by side, esp. for comparison or contrast.

2.the state of being close together or side by side.


Origin:
1655–65; < F < L juxtā side by side + F position position

 

Yesterday I had the oddest conversation about how I could not be an artist because I work in a law office.  It wasn’t the normal all artists must be flakes, drink, have loose morals etc.  It had everything to do with how they saw lawyers and law offices, or rather how they wanted the law and lawyers to be.  Our office deals with a lot of family law, and there are a lot of grey areas, because each individual situation is different. He wanted it to be black and white, and therefore I should be black and white.    I really dislike being put into a box, but it got me thinking about contrasts, the unexpected, and stereotypes.

I did not come up with any  profound conclusions, but they did inspire today’s fractal. 

 

 

____________________________________________________________________

juxtaposition. Dictionary.com. Dictionary.com Unabridged. Random House, Inc. http://dictionary.reference.com/browse/juxtaposition (accessed: November 25, 2009).

14 thoughts on “Juxtaposition

  1. Sounds like an individual did what I call “boxify” you… put you into their preconceived “box” with “law office worker” scratched upon it.

    When stuff like that happens I figure I am there to teach. Sometimes I get boxified because of my faith and people can’t imagine there are Christian people who act, think, feel, create the way I do. I shrug and keep being exactly who I am. The people who stick around realize I don’t belong in a box, that none of us do.

    🙂

    Here’s to opening up beyond the boxification. Our souls can not be placed into a box, nor can our art (unless that is the context within we choose to create..)

    Sliding my soap box to the side, now…

    Bushels of love, Rennata!

    1. I am very much in agreement with you. I have my own soap box I keep close at hand on this issue.
      I do have to balance the wishes of my employer with my own personal preferences. The poor individual was desperatly wanting there to be boxes in his life, so I can understand where he was coming from.

Leave a Reply

