At the Ballet

Rennata M. Tropeano, Ballet Practice, Digital Image 8x10 inches ©2009 Rennata M. Tropeano, Rehersal, Photograph  8x10 inches ©2009 Rennata M. Tropeano, Pointe, Photograph 8x10 inches ©2009

Today at my daughter’s school I saw a sign that said I am an Artist. I live life out loud.  It was a poster for MICA. I loved the comment. I thought about how true it is in many ways,  When you create you put a bit of yourself up on display.  I add another dimension to that  by blogging about the process.  When I do simple mom things like attending Ballet observation night, I bring my camera like all the other proud moms.  The difference is that I take 300 shots and I move around the studio in order to get better angles, and I am just as likely to take pictures when they are not dancing as when they were.  I found myself thinking of all the Degas ballet pictures of the dancers at work, not at the performance, but the actual in the studio work.

I think that in many things there is a beauty to the work and the journey to  a final product that is important. I see so many would be artists discouraged that they are not creating masterpieces from the start.  I think for me an important part of living out loud is to share the learning process, not just my final fished pieces, but those I struggle with.  My daughters sometime are a little less excited about it, because they prefer to be the models in the pretty final performance pictures, rather than those photos that are the journey.

the dance shoes

One thought on “At the Ballet

Leave a Reply

