Saturday Updates

I have been busy creating all day. Now I need to upload the images. I wanted to take time to list a credit to another one of the artists who had a wonderful piece of leaf art. Kathryn Petro Harper.

The bit of news that follows this came at a very interesting time for me. Recently I submitted a design in response to a call for artists. I got a call back from the chairman of the search committee. She called to tell me that while the committee had rated my design as one of the best, they went with other artists who won contests and awards. I have never been one for art contests, as being a winner means that a person, or a team of people thought your work was better than all the others. It is completely subjective and I have always thought “Why bother?”
Now I know. The woman nicely went on to suggest some local and not local venues that she felt I might enter and win. It brought me to mind of the local restaurant/gallery that is across the street from the gallery in which I show. They are having a photography content that even though I sell my work professionally, they would enter my work as an amateur because I have not won any photography contests.
To quote Pooh, “Oh Bother!” ( I am not certain if that was rightfully Disney or A.A. Milne)

On other news: Paula sent me an award. She just keeps making my day. It is a peer to peer award, which means that someone liked my work. Thank you.
Over the Top
The instructions say that I need to answer the following questions with ONE word and pass the award on.

1. Where is your cellphone? worn
2. Your hair? brunette
3. Your mother? missed
4. Your father? Artist
5. Your favorite food? Yes
6. Your dream last night? odd
7. Your dream/goal? Artist
8. Your favorite drink? Coffee
9. What room are you in? computer
10. Your hobby? Knitting
11. Your fear? pain
12. Where do you want to be in 6 years? Here
13. Where were you last night? home
14. Something that you aren´t? welder
15. Muffins? banana
16. Wishlist item? lens
17. Where did you grow up? Texas
18. Last thing you did? pancakes
19. What are you wearing? yoga
20. Your TV? off
21. Your pets? cats
22. Friends? important
23. Your life? full
24. Your mood? happy
25. Missing someone? yes
26. Vehicle? Cruiser
27. Something you´re not wearing? shoes
28. Your favorite store? Art
29. Your favorite color? green
30. When was the last time you laughed? today
31. Last time you cried?yesterday
32. Your best friend? Sister
33. One place you go to over and over? Gallery
34. Facebook? yes
35. Favorite place to eat? OBrien’s

The second part is that I am to pass this on to other bloggers. So naturally I am choosing those who inspired me this last week.

Kathryn Petro Harper whose beautiful leaf art inspired me.

Darlene Duncan Her wonderful posts of her artwork, and the stories behind them are one of the main reasons I started blogging myself. Please check out her work, she is a brilliant artist.

and

M.E. Wickham
whose explanation of her collage and the techinques involved have me wanting to learn more about collage.

3 thoughts on “Saturday Updates

  1. A lot of sharing and inspiring goes round and round between artist bloggers. I also find inspiration from the thoughts and suggestions of writers and other folks who may not consider themselves artists.

    I’m pleased that you found some inspiration from my posts. Thanks for the award.

    I’ll be sure to check out the other artists you mentioned.

    Darlene

Leave a Reply

