“Yes, you can draw.”

Rennata M. Tropeano, Assorted Sketches. charcoal, crayons, 8 x 8inches. ©2009Rennata M. Tropeano, Face Sketch. charcoal, 8 x 8inches. ©2009

I have been doing a lot of work with computer graphics as of late and while that keeps me in practice with composing a scene, it takes a different skill set than basic drawing . I am firm believer in going back to the basics and working on improving your grasp of skills. Working on improving is very different than expecting perfection.  Learning to sketch is really the process of learning to see, and then translating that to the paper.  Many would be artists are very frustrated with their own perceived inability to draw _________.   Tonight an artist whose work I admire, said to me “I can’t draw people”   I bet she can. Maybe not as well as she would like, but I have seen her paintings. I have no doubt what so ever that she can draw people.  I am convinced that anyone who can write their name in both cursive and printing can in fact draw,  All the skills that you need are there. The ability to reproduce a series of positive and negative shapes with curves and lines.  When you think about it, the ability to write is pretty impressive, yet this is something that most people do with out thinking about it.  It is something that we all learned to do through practice and by doing it over and over again. I love how to draw books that tell the reader that you can learn to draw horses, dogs, cartoons, fairies, etc in so many simple steps.  They always seem to leave out the little fact that it takes practice to learn to do each step.  Take a look at a learn to write book.  They are all about practice, and no one expects a child to be able to write after finishing one workbook.  When I start to sketch, I have a set of jewel tone crayons that I like to start with, to warm up, and remind myself that it takes practice, and it should be fun, otherwise why bother?

14 thoughts on ““Yes, you can draw.”

  1. what a wonderful post! i’m late in discovering art in life and i need to hear that with practice i too can draw. Your sketches are great! I like the bodies moving in the exercise poses!

    1. Tami-

      Thank you. Drawing is easy, watch any child with a pack of crayons or pretty much anything that will make a mark on another surface.

      Those sketches are taken from a magazine, I just opened it and started at the first picture of people and went with it. There was an article on using the balance ball. Grab a pack of crayons and draw, enjoy the practice and have fun.

  2. I have a hard time drawing or painting people whom I know. The reason is my fear of their comments and rejection of my artwork… for example… one time a friend said “her hand was too big” in a portrait I did of her. She had a big hand because she wears bright red nail polish and was holding a fancy bottle of champagne. People do not have to be drawn or painted in photorealism.

    I agree, everyone who can write their name can draw people, animals, landscapes, etc. in their own style and vision.

Leave a Reply

